Friday , February 12 2016
Home / Author Archives: Admin (page 53)

Author Archives: Admin

Brickyard 400 Practice #2 recap

After the initial practice session, teams made adjustments and hit the track to see how their cars took to the changes. There was also some cloud cover that moved over the track which allowed the track temp to dip slightly which is critical at Indianapolis which is one of the most temperature sensitive tracks on the circuit. By the time the practice session was finished, 25 cars were able to go faster than Juan Pablo Montoya’s practice leading lap from the first session. Even though that many cars were able to beat the time, none of them were able to beat Montoya who continued to show the way with a lap of 50.068 seconds with a speed of 179.756 miles per hour. Montoya must have shared his knowledge with McMurray during the course of practice because, near the end of the session, McMurray busted off a lap of 50.132 seconds which equates to 179.526 mph to take second place in the practice. Mark Martin, who has an average finish at Indy of 13.4, was the third quickest car in this session with a 50.184 second lap for a speed of 179.340 miles per hour. That was a pickup of 12 positions from his 15th place in the first session. Read More »

Brickyard 400 Practice #1 recap

Pick your cliché’ – Different verse, same as the first – Same ol’ stuff, different day – Another day, another dollar – Whatever you want to call it, the NASCAR Cup series has returned to Indianapolis and Juan Pablo Montoya has picked up right where he left off. When the checkered flag flew last year, even though he didn’t win the race, Montoya was the fastest car on the track. His pit road gaff cost him more track position than he could make up over the closing laps. When the cars took back to the track for the first practice session for the 17th running of the Brickyard 400, Montoya showed up right back where he left off, at the top of the charts. Teams didn’t run many laps during the first session (no one had a 10 consecutive lap average on the time sheet) but 46 teams took times during the session. Read More »

Tracking the Trucks: 200

*In a Nutshell:* After a blackout at Gateway International Raceway forced the postponement of Friday night's 200, it was Kevin Harvick who came out victorious on a steamy Saturday afternoon, beating Brad Keselowski to the checkers by 5.241 seconds. Harvick overcame a stiff neck and back to dominate, leading 143 of 160 laps on the way to his third win in four starts this season. Johnny Sauter, point leader Todd Bodine, and Matt Crafton rounded out the top 5. *Who Should Have Won:* *Kevin Harvick.* After scoring his first career Truck Series pole in his 105th start, Harvick made it clear he had the truck to beat, pulling out to a nearly eight second lead over second-place Ron Hornaday, Jr. before the second caution flew on lap 50. When pit road strategy saw the driver of the No. 2 Stubb's Legendary Bar-B-Q / Kroger Chevrolet restart fifth on lap 78, it took just four green flag laps for him to once again assume the lead and ultimately the win. Read More »

Legends Million Qualifying

The first day of activity for the Legends Million at Charlotte Motor Speedway wrapped up with qualifying. Over 350 cars took times in the three different divisions that will be participating in the races this weekend. The open division has the most cars entered and is the group that will make up the heats that will transfer cars directly to the Million. 144 cars took times in that division and concluded activities for the day. Read More »

Legends Million Practice

The largest purse in grass roots racing has brought out an enormous field to the Charlotte Motor Speedway. Over 300 Legends cars are going to put the pedal to the floor and try and break Bruton Smith’s bank. The winner of Saturday’s Million race will take home $250,000 and bragging rights for winning the biggest check in Legends racing history. Cars have come from 36 states and two foreign countries to take a shot at being one of the 30 drivers who will vie for the big prize. Read More »

Tracking the Trucks: Lucas Oil 200

*In a Nutshell:* After yet another month off and the threat of rain before the green flag, the Truck Series did not disappoint Sunday afternoon. Austin Dillon beat Johnny Sauter to the checkers by 0.635 seconds to win the Lucas Oil 200 at Iowa Speedway. The driver of the No. 3 Bass Pro Shops Chevrolet took the lead for the final time on lap 154 and held on through the final two cautions and a green-white-checkered finish. Matt Crafton, Ken Schrader and James Buescher rounded out the top 5. Read More »